RSS

Crockpot Beef Stroganoff

02 Jun

Pinned Image

Once again I find myself in that what to make for dinner rut.

While perusing the pintrest world I come across a recipe for

“The absolute best crockpot beef stroganoff ever”

I of course read the recipe, decided it seemed ok but I don’t like mushrooms so…

how do I make it my own?

Well, here you go.

My recipe

1  32oz box of beef broth

2T corn starch, might need more

about 2lbs lean stew beef

1 large onion, chopped roughly

4-6T Worcestershire Sauce

1t garlic powder, or to taste

2T paprika, hot or regular

8oz cream cheese

 

In crockpot add 3/4 box of beef broth, saving the rest in case you need to thicken or thin out the base later. Add cornstarch and mix well. Add paprika, chopped onion, garlic powder and  Worcestershire Sauce, mix well. Add beef, cutting into bite size pieces if need be. Turn crockpot on low for 6 hours(original said 8hours but I think that may be a tad to long, we’ll see).

Check the thickness of the sauce, you want it to be thick but not too thick. If need be use the rest of the beef broth to thicken or thin out the sauce by either adding 1T cornstarch and then adding it to the sauce which will thicken as it heats up or to thin it just add straight broth. 

Cut cream cheese into smaller pieces to easily melt into the sauce. Add them right before serving and allow to melt and rewarm.

I served this with egg noodles but also yummy would be served with mashed potatoes.

If you are a fungi lover then please, by all means, either use the golden mushroom soup in the picture instead of beef broth or follow my recipe and add sauteed mushrooms at the end of cooking. I am quite sure that mushrooms would be lovely, just not for me.

Happy Eating!!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 2, 2012 in Beef

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
